The Good Stuff.

So now that I’ve got a bit of practice under my belt, Marcell (quite wisely, I must say), must have decided I was ready to tackle a pair of welted shoes for myself.
Like Frodo Baggins, I begin my long and perilous journey.

Like any journey, it’s best to plan things out before you start. So I do this by making a pattern for the shoe. But you’ve already seen this in my last update, so the next step would be…the uppers being made.

I’m currently at swine and peasant status, so Erica gets to make the uppers. And I’m glad she does, because she does one damn fine job, while I gaze on, eyes glazed over with envy. Here’s Erica doing her thing, and the amazing results:

wonderfully black pebbly leather is what we'll be using.

wonderfully black pebbly leather is what we'll be using.

Here we have the pattern for the vamp being traced onto the leather.

PA090838

Same thing as before, except with a silky-smooth leather lining

Same thing as before, except with a silky-smooth leather lining

Erica skiving the edges

Erica skiving the edges

The heel has been sewn!

The heel has been sewn!

erica's gear

erica's gear

getting better and better...

getting better and better...

lining so soft, I can't believe it's not butter.

lining so soft, I can't believe it's not butter.

PA090879

And after a few painstaking hours watching my beautiful creation come into existence (cue lightning, clap of thunder, and frankenstein), we have the finished uppers ready to be lasted.

PA090881

note the sexy blue line of stitching. marcell semi-approved.

note the sexy blue line of stitching. marcell semi-approved.

There’s usually a gap on most derby’s (<–type of design I used) between the quarters/eyelets/whatever. I opted to have them touching as you can see in the pic below. Naturally, Marcell disapproved. But I like to irritate him so I went ahead with it anyways. We’ll see how they fit when I’m finished them.

PA090892

PA090883

I can’t let excellent work and design go unappreciated, so here’s a few pictures of Dani (fellow student’s) finished upper. I think we can all agree that she’s very talented. See for yourself!

Like Dani, they're very english.

Like Dani, they're very english.

This picture sums up Erica's skill level. Absolutely amazing is an understatement.

This picture sums up Erica's skill level. Absolutely amazing is an understatement.

Next update will probably be on monday or tuesday. See y’all then.

One Response to “The Good Stuff.”

  1. Diego Says:

    Great blog. You’re work looks great, keep up the posts!

Leave a Reply

