More Practice: Cemented Shoe #1

I have yet to tackle any welted shoes, as Marcell thinks it is best to practice each of the basic steps first so that when I get to making my own shoes, I will have a much better result. I agree!
Starting with a meticulously sewn upper (no, I did not sew this)…

P1010729

we BEGIN!

P1010731

Getting the first 3 nails in is the hardest, since the medallion on the toe needs to be lined up perfectly. It took me an hour to get the above done…

and even longer to get to this…

straighter than a hollywood stars teeth, as Marcell would say.

straighter than a hollywood stars teeth, as Marcell would say.

P1010736

and hours later of hammering, rasping (similar to coarse sanding), and carefully following directions (well, attempting to), we get to cementing a rubber sole and a heel.

P1010747

look at that perfectly tapered waist. quite similar to my own in fact.

P1010750

not the prettiest, but at least it resembles a shoe. I think Marcell would even agree!

Tomorrow, I get to start designing my own pattern for a shoe of my own.
My hands are already tingling just thinking about it. Or maybe I just hammered my fingers one too many times.

Anyways, back to the hostel. ’til tomorrow!

it's a beautiful dayyyy. just kidding, it's a nighttime shot.

it's a beautiful dayyyy. just kidding, it's a nighttime shot.

One Response to “More Practice: Cemented Shoe #1”

  1. Kamran Says:

    Pretty good progress, man! I’m impresssssed.

Leave a Reply

